Linda Nagata: the blog at Hahví.net

The John W. Campbell Memorial Award

May 22nd, 2014

More good news for The Red: First Light! The novel has been honored as a finalist for The John W. Campbell Memorial Award. This must have been a good year for science fiction, because there are fifteen finalists — more than in any other recent year.

The Campbell Memorial Award is a juried award presented for the best science-fiction novel of the year. It’s considered one of the three major annual awards for science fiction, and is generally limited to science fiction — in other words, it does not consider fantasy novels. The award is administered by Christopher McKitterick, Director of the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas.

The winner has not been announced yet, though no doubt it will be soon. Again, I have no expectation of winning, but as with the Nebulas, it truly is an honor just to be nominated.

This is actually my second Campbell nomination. My novel Memory was nominated back in 2004 — something I never knew at the time. It was only in the last year or so that I discovered it on the list of nominees — a rather ironic surprise.

The full list of finalists can be found here.

And more information on the award itself can be found here.

Posted on: Thursday, May 22nd, 2014 at 2:13 pm
Categories: My Books.
Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “The John W. Campbell Memorial Award”

  1. Paul Weimer (@PrinceJvstin) Says:

    Congratulations on the nomination, Linda!

  2. Linda Says:

    Thank you, Paul! 🙂